Click here for a printable Awards Nomination Form
Due Feb 8, 2017

Click here for BCHW Awards Categories


For the BCHW Award Recipient History (who won what when) Click here

Awards News:  July 2016,  The 2016 BCHW Awards Committee Chair is Lynn Wilhelm-Howell
Contact Info:  redboots4u2@gmail.com  206-498-4622

March 30, 2016


Awards Committee Report

By: Deb Wesselius,

BCHW-Awards Committee Chair


The 2015 BCHW Award program recognized four different award categories: Lifetime Achievement, Lopper, Backbone, Trail Warrior, plus two BCHW Cinch Awards.  Eight BCHW chapters participated in the nomination process, presenting excellent nominees for the judging process. Having been able to review the nomination packets, I was reminded of the significant contribution volunteers make for our organization.  It was amazing to read about the time and commitment the nominees have volunteered over the years. 


Congratulations to your BCHW Award 2015 Recipients: 


Lifetime Achievement - 2016

          Okanogan Valley Chapter – Trygve Culp

          Northeast Chapter – Robert & Vicki Gish

Lopper - 2015        

          Mt. St. Helens Chapter – Barbara Thomas

          Mt. St. Helens Chapter – Claire Fisher

          Peninsula Chapter – Cate Bendock

Yakima Valley Chapter – Robin Faulk

Trail Warrior - 2015

          Mt. St. Helens Chapter – Danny Stineback

Backbone - 2015

          Grays Harbor Chapter – Mary Owens

          Scattercreek Riders Chapter – Dick & LaVonne Bailey

          Tahoma Chapter – Don Boltz


Start thinking about your 2016 volunteers and decide who in your chapter might meet the qualifications for one of this year’s awards.  You might also consider forming an awards nominating committee in your chapter to start gathering important information and pictures for your deserving volunteers. 


The BCHW Awards committee wishes to give a special thanks to the chapters and businesses that sponsored the award program.  Your continued support to our awards program is appreciated.  Thanks to:

BCHW Chapters: Buckhorn Range, Cascade Horse Club, Enumclaw Trail Riders, Ferry County,  Lewis County, Methow Valley, Mt. Saint Helens, Peninsula, Traildusters & Wenatchee Valley.

Businesses: Chris Tornow, Saddle Maker & Harbor Saw & Supply.


The BCHW Board of Directors selected two outstanding recipients for BCHW Cinch Awards.  The cinch award nominees were recognized for their efforts done behind the scenes for our organization.  First is Tom Mix, who worked for three years to develop and implement the BCHW Saw Certification Program successfully with other user groups. The second Cinch awards goes to Lori Lennox for running 3 successive years, Rendezvous! Under her steadfast guidance Rendezvous has become BCHW’s top fund raiser.  For the final BCHW Award, Past President Culp presented the President's Diamond Award to Cathy Nelson, Trail Dusters Chapter, for her Herculean efforts to repair and reconstruct the access road to Haney Meadows and the Ken Wilcox Horse Camp on the CleElum Ranger District of the Okanogan Wenatchee National Forest. She started work on the project following the Table Mountain Fire when it became apparent that the road had deteriorated to the point that it was nearly impassable due to fire damage and fire equipment abuse of the road. Cathy single handedly cajoled and in some cases hounded land managers to complete necessary environmental documents, specifications and permissions and agreements. She beat the bushes for funding and donations until she had accumulated enough money to get the job done. Finally, she personally oversaw completion of the week long project, camping onsite and working with the equipment operators to insure that the job was completed to specification(s). The Haney Meadows Road Project is the first major road project ever undertaken and successfully completed by BCHW.

Return to Homepage